Summer School in Digital Humanities 2022

Place of Study: Online!

Language: English

Duration: July 4-11, 2022 – evening group; July 25 - August 1, 2022 – morning group

Outcome: 2 ECTS per week, ITMO Official Certificate

Deadline: June 25, 2022 – for evening group; July 18, 2022 – for morning group

Fees: 10,000 RUB (~120 euro)


Program description

The Summer School in Digital Humanities offers introductory workshops to anyone interested in the field. The course is designed for people wishing to start or develop their DH projects. During school, students will learn the fundamentals of programming for data analysis and visualization.

The training will include several online workshops during a one-week course, as well as lectures by invited experts in the field of data mining, data analysis, and visualization from the world’s top universities.

Who can apply?

  • Everyone with an interest in programming, humanities, and social science

What will you get?

  • ITMO’s official certificate, 2 ECTS
  • Сomprehnsive experience in interdisciplinary research on the intersection of programming and human studies 
  • Morning and evening groups depending on your time preferences
  • A DH project for your portfolio
  • Networking
  • Additional points when applying for ITMO’s Master’s programs

What do school fees include?

  • Registration and tuition
  • VR sightseeing tour of St. Petersburg
  • VR guided museum and theater tours
  • All taxes
  • VR Russian cuisine workshop

Why choose ITMO?


 


Camp Schedule

Evening group:

  • July 4, Monday – What is/are Digital Humanities?
  • July 5, Tuesday – Python Workshop 
  • July 6, Wednesday – Data Mining Workshop
  • July 7, Thursday – Data Visualization in Tableau 
  • July 8, Friday – DH Project’s Idea Pitching
  • July 9, Saturday – Project preparation
  • July 10, Sunday – Project preparation
  • July 11, Monday – Project presentation


​Morning group:

  • July 25, Monday – What is/are Digital Humanities?
  • July 26, Tuesday – Python Workshop 
  • July 27, Wednesday – Data Mining Workshop
  • July 28, Thursday – Data Visualization in Tableau 
  • July 29, Friday – DH Project’s Idea Pitching
  • July 30, Saturday – Project preparation
  • July 31, Sunday – Project preparation
  • August 1, Monday – Project presentation

The program includes workshops and discussions held every day from 9.00 to 11.00 or from 17.00 to 19.00 (Moscow time, GMT +3)